+48 795 207 825

|

info@americanbookstore.pl

|
Promocja!

The Metal Heart – Caroline Lea

Tytuł:

The Metal Heart

Autor:

Caroline Lea

Wydawnictwo:

Michael Joseph

Rok wydania:

2021

Okładka:

miękka

ISBN:

9781405944359

Ilość sztuk w magazynie: 1 |

Wysyłamy w 24h |

Original price was: 49,00 zł.Current price is: 35,00 zł.

1 w magazynie

SKU: 9781405944359 Kategorie: , Tagi: ,

Opis

PRE-ORDER THIS BEAUTIFULLY COMPELLING WARTIME STORY OF FREEDOM AND LOVE

The sky is clear, star-stamped and silvered by the waxing gibbous moon.

No planes have flown over the islands tonight; no bombs have fallen for over a year.
___________

Orkney, 1940. Five hundred Italian prisoners-of-war arrive to fortify these remote and windswept islands. Resentful islanders are fearful of the enemy in their midst, but not orphaned twin sisters Dorothy and Constance. Already outcasts, they volunteer to nurse all prisoners who are injured or fall sick.

Soon Dorothy befriends Cesare, an artist swept up by the machine of war and almost broken by the horrors he has witnessed. She is entranced by his plan to build an Italian chapel from war scrap and sea debris, and something beautiful begins to blossom.

But Con, scarred from a betrayal in her past, is afraid for her sister; she knows that people are not always what they seem.

Soon, trust frays between the islanders and outsiders, and between the sisters – their hearts torn by rival claims of duty and desire. A storm is coming…

In the tradition of Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, The Metal Heart is a hauntingly rich Second World War love story about courage, brutality, freedom and beauty and the essence of what makes us human during the darkest of times.
___________


Praise for Caroline Lea:

’Enthralling’ Stacey Halls, author of The Familiars and The Foundling

’Fantastic’ The Times

’Memorable and compelling’ Sarah Moss, author of The Times Book of the Year Ghost Wall

’Intensely written and atmospheric’ Daily Mail

’Gripped me in a cold fist. Beautiful’ Sara Collins, author of The Confessions of Frannie Langton

’Brilliant’ Daily Express

Informacje dodatkowe

Tytuł:

The Metal Heart

Autor:

Caroline Lea

Wydawnictwo:

Michael Joseph

Rok wydania:

2021

Okładka:

miękka

ISBN:

9781405944359